summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMike Travis <travis@sgi.com>2010-02-02 17:45:01 -0800
committerH. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>2010-02-05 15:02:47 -0800
commit36028f3383872eefb558a4aae4c12ec2b5fa640f (patch)
treec6716b619537d54991d17bd4296f9e3bd194086e
parent773a38dbdad03474c5ee235f7d9bf9f51c9e3c2b (diff)
vgaarb: Add user selectability of the number of GPUS in a system
Update the VGA Arbiter to allow the user to select the number of GPU's supported in a system. v2: simplify setting of MAX_USER_CARDS, revert back to original default of 16 Signed-off-by: Mike Travis <travis@sgi.com> LKML-Reference: <4B68D51D.6090401@sgi.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Robin Holt <holt@sgi.com> Cc: Jack Steiner <steiner@sgi.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org> Cc: David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
-rw-r--r--drivers/gpu/vga/Kconfig8
-rw-r--r--drivers/gpu/vga/vgaarb.c2
2 files changed, 9 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/gpu/vga/Kconfig b/drivers/gpu/vga/Kconfig
index 790e675b13eb..0920492cea0a 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/vga/Kconfig
+++ b/drivers/gpu/vga/Kconfig
@@ -8,3 +8,11 @@ config VGA_ARB
are accessed at same time they need some kind of coordination. Please
see Documentation/vgaarbiter.txt for more details. Select this to
enable VGA arbiter.
+
+config VGA_ARB_MAX_GPUS
+ int "Maximum number of GPUs"
+ default 16
+ depends on VGA_ARB
+ help
+ Reserves space in the kernel to maintain resource locking for
+ multiple GPUS. The overhead for each GPU is very small.
diff --git a/drivers/gpu/vga/vgaarb.c b/drivers/gpu/vga/vgaarb.c
index ba7fa9ee54dc..325a53364211 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/vga/vgaarb.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/vga/vgaarb.c
@@ -688,7 +688,7 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL(vga_client_register);
* the arbiter.
*/
-#define MAX_USER_CARDS 16
+#define MAX_USER_CARDS CONFIG_VGA_ARB_MAX_GPUS
#define PCI_INVALID_CARD ((struct pci_dev *)-1UL)
/*